China Hits U.S. Lawmakers And Pro-Democracy Leaders With Sanctions


Key Topics in this News Article:

News Snapshot:

Beijing on Monday announced a new round of unspecified sanctions on 11 Americans, including senators and leaders of pro-democracy nonprofit organizations, the Associated Press reported . The sanctions will target Sens. Marco Rubio (R., Fla.), Tom Cotton (R., Ark.), Ted Cruz (R., Tex.), Pat Toomey (R., Pa.), and Josh Hawley (R., Mo.), all outspoken advocates for action against the Chinese Communist Party (CCP). They also take aim at Rep. Chris Smith (R., N.J.) and leaders of pro-democracy groups such as the Foundation for Defense of Democracies, International Republican Institute, and Freedom House, among others. Recent Stories in National Security The...